NIE Council

Is the supreme governing body vested with administration, management and control of all affairs relating to the institute.


The Council consists of two Ex. Officio Members. The Secretary to the Ministry of Education is appointed as Ex. The Officio Chairman and the Director General of the National Institute of Education are the other Ex. Officio members of the council.


The council also comprises persons appointed by the Ministry of Higher Education, and Ministry of Finance and eight council members conversant in the field of education appointed by the Minister of Education.

Mr. M.N. Ranasinghe

Ministry of Education

Dr. Sunil Jayantha Nawaratne

Director General
National Institute of Education

Prof. Narada Warnasuriya

Former Vice Chancellor

University of Sri Jayawardenapura

Prof. M. S. M. Anes

Retired Professor

University of Peradeniya

Dr. Upali M. Sedere

Former State Secretary

Ministry of Education

Prof. G.D. Lekamge

Rtd. Chair Professor
Faculty of Education, The Open University

Mr. M.P.C.M. Muthukumarana

Senior Attorney at Law

Prof. Harischandra Abeygunawardane


National Education Commission

Dr. Mrs. I.L. Ginige

Former Deputy Director General
National Institute of Education

Mr. T.B.M. Athapaththu

Additional Secretary (Administration and Finance)
Ministry of Higher Education

Mrs. M. Gangatharan

Additional Director General
Department of National Planning, General Treasury

Mr. Amal A. Randeniya

Attorney at Law